LovedeAcapella

Just an aca-fan navigating the aca-world.

First Listen Friday: Cadence

on January 20, 2012

Cadence is not an unfamiliar a cappella name for me.  They certainly make the rounds of the #basslove discussions on the Twitter (thank you Angie W.). This Canadian vocal band recently performed at the London A Cappella Festival, and I see them on the schedule for Boston Sings A Cappella Festival, or BOSS, in April — for which I have a VIP Pass #beep. So, I decided to check them out on Spotify.

Verdict: WOW. WOW. WOW.

Cadence

Meet Cadence (L to R): Ross Lynde (tenor), Aaron Jensen (tenor), Kurt Sampson (bass and vocal percussion), Carl Berger (baritone)

So, I listened to their 2010 album Speak Easy, and it is full of big band, Rat Pack, jazzy goodness. And also #basslove. Remember that number on The Sing-Off Season 3, “The Way You Look Tonight” by BYU Vocal Point? It’s like that. Many times over. The harmonies are fabulous, the beat is infectious, and you just want to snap your fingers and dance. Not knowing all the singer-type descriptions, that’s all I can give you. Better yet, take a listen:

My favorites on Speak Easy after a First Listen are “Just a Gigolo/I Ain’t Got Nobody” and “The Tramps,” but this album deserves more attention. On recommendation, I also checked out the 2000 album Frost Free, and just the fact that there is a version of “Spinning Wheel” had me sold before I put my headphones on. There are more albums, but I’ll leave that to you to look up. It will be worth it.

Band: Cadence
Website: www.cadence-unplugged.com
Twitter: @cadencetweet
YouTube: cadenceunplugged

Well, my first First Listen Friday was a success! Let me know what you think. I’m sure there will be another post about Cadence in the future, since I’ll be seeing their show from the front row as part of my BOSS VIP Pass. Be jealous.

7 responses to “First Listen Friday: Cadence

  1. A friend gave me Frost Free 10 years ago, and I loved it and lost it. A few years back, someone played Twenty for One for me, and I’ve been hooked ever since. And Speak Easy just blew my mind. Great, great stuff, great post, and welcome to the a cappella blogging community!

    Dave
    acatribe.com

  2. SJ says:

    I love this. I’d heard of Cadence before, but this is a first listen for me. Fantastically smooth! Absolutely buttah. Way to go on the blog!

  3. Stan Flemons says:

    Love the post on Cadence! First heard them on the Sing 7: Lucky album. They did a great recording of “Good Love”. Awesome group. Thanks for sharing the video of them as well. they sound great live.

    Will continue to check out your blog. Nice job!!

  4. Alex Kornreich (@awarriormom) says:

    Never heard of them, but WOW! Great job on the blog. I’ll be back. 🙂

  5. I love Cadence! I have their album “Frost Free”. Thanks for putting all of their website/Twitter/YouTube information in one spot. That’s very helpful! I can’t wait to get more aca recommendations from you.

Leave a Reply

